Good Habits

July 14, 2009

Day 19

7-6-09_breakfast

7-14-09_lunch7-14-09_dinner

Food Units
plain non-fat yogurt with fruit. 3
snack bowl with tomatoes, cheese and hard boiled egg. 5
baked potato, green beans and chicken. 12
Total: 20

Table provided by Roni’s Food Tweet, Eat, Post Generator.

Today was a much better day than yesterday. No negative emotions raging on the inside of me. It was a pretty calm and relaxed day. I even had breakfast. (Amazing I know!) Eventually I’ll develop the habit of a healthy breakfast to start my day off right.

One of the reasons it’s so challenging for me is my bedroom is two floors up from my kitchen. My bedroom is my favorite place to hang out and when I first wake up I like spending some quiet time in my room. I have a routine and I don’t leave my room till my routine is finished. I have my devotions, I shower, brush my teeth, get dressed. I clean my room, and I can’t clean without some music so I usually turn on my computer so I can listen to my itunes library and then of course since I turned on my computer I’m tempted to sit and spend a bunch of time on the computer. It starts out harmless enough with just checking to see if I have any email but then it turns into reading through all my favorite blogs to seeing what I have next coming on Netflix to updating my facebook status….it goes on and on and by the time I know it my morning is gone. I need to keep fruit up in my room or something. I’m not sure how to solve this problem yet but I’m definitely giving it some thought.

8h2oAnother habit I need to develop is to drink my 8 glasses of water each day. I downloaded this great iphone app called 8 Glasses a Day. Every time I drink a glass I just touch one of the glasses on the screen and it empties. If you drink 8 glasses you are rewarded with a fun fact about why drinking water is so good for you. Since I’ve had it I’ve only successfully been able to drink my full amount of water on one day. Most days I average about 5-6 glasses.

Prior Fat Girl has challenged her readers to join with her in only drinking water for the rest of the month. I’m up for that. I enjoy water, my problem is remembering to drink so much. Maybe I should carry a jug of water with me each day filled with the amount of water I need for the day. Something to think about.

Leave a Reply

